Online PR? Offline PR? Just PR?

Online PR? Offline PR? Just PR?

I’ve just whipped through a colleague’s copy of econsultancy.com’s Online PR Benchmarking Survey (http://econsultancy.com/reports/online-pr-industry-benchmarking-report) and it got me thinking about PR in general. I love PR, and I think, done correctly it can add significantly to the overall promotional mix (just think about Richard Branson & Virgin for a sec) . . . but I won’t patronise you on that front. I’m no PR expert and wouldn’t claim to be so.

The one thing that does really interest me is how much the SEO community has picked up on the whole PR thang and is rocking it to it’s absolute core. I mean, let’s think about this for a second . . . This (the econsultancy one mentioned above) report claims that 49% of online PR work is being handed to search agencies or web developers and with 51% going to traditional PR agencies. . . That’s nearly 50% of what should be PR industry work going to a different industry all together.

This tells me there’s a massive gaping wound in the PR industry. No one really seems to know what’s going on. I’ve even checked out a few ‘Online PR’ agencies websites’ and that just seems to confuse matters further.

It’s all pretty simple though really . . . Isn’t it? Don’t you just apply the same principles of offline PR to the online world? Sure you’ve got blogs, social networks and online video, but are the principles so different from offline that a traditional PR agency can’t adopt?

Having said that, lol, I’m seriously thinking about launching SearchData PR 😉 Drop me a line if you’re interested!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

